Summer Nights

Summer Nights

Thursday 1 August 7.45pm-10.00pm

Kathryn Rudge mezzo-soprano
Philharmonia Orchestra 
Martyn Brabbins conductor

Stravinsky Second Suite from The Firebird (1919)  23’
Berlioz Les nuits d’été   31’
Walton Symphony No 1     43’

Our orchestra-in-residence presents three visionary orchestral pieces under the assured baton of Martyn Brabbins, beginning with Stravinsky’s sparkling Firebird Suite, as fresh and invigorating today as it was a century ago. Brimming over with savage emotional intensity, Walton’s ferociously compelling First Symphony concludes the concert, while Berlioz’s Les nuits d’été – despite its innocuous title – explores a life cycle of love and loss.

Tickets £50, £45, £32, £25, £15 from

[Image: Martyn Brabbins]

Printer Printable Version

Visit England logo Green-Tourism logo logo trip advisor link Arocha Eco Church logo