Governance and Staffing

Gloucester Cathedral is governed by Chapter with support and oversight from the Cathedral Council and College of Canons. The Cathedral employs approximately 50 members of staff aided by 450 volunteers.

Gloucester Cathedral is an exempt charity (Charities Act 2006). Whilst being exempt from certain provisions, including registration with the Charities Commission, the Cathedral is subject to the usual legal rules applicable to Charities under English Law. Like all cathedrals, Gloucester Cathedral reports to the Church Commissioners for England.


The Cathedral Chapter is the governance authority for the Cathedral, and is made up of both clergy and lay members. Chapter is responsible for the strategic oversight of all major Cathedral matters and is chaired by the Dean, the Very Reverend Stephen Lake. Chapter shares information with both the College of Canons and the Cathedral Council.

Our current Chapter Members are:

Cathedral Chapter

The Very Reverend StephenLake (Chair) The Dean of Gloucester
Canon Hilary Dawson Archdeacon of Gloucester, Residentiary Canon of Gloucester Cathedral
Nikki Arthy Cathedral Canon, Rector of the parish of Gloucester City and Hempsted
Andrew Braddock Cathedral Canon, Director of the department for Mission and Ministry
Peter Clark Lay Chapter Member
John Coates Lay Chapter Member
Paul Mason Cathedral Treasurer
Richard Mitchell Canon Precentor, Director of Congregational Development
Margaret Sheather Lay Chapter Member and Chair of Cathedral Council
Emily MacKenzie Chapter Steward (Chief Operating Officer)
Celia Thomson Canon Chancellor


Click here to find out more about our Members of Chapter
















As per the Cathedral’s Measure (1999) The Chapter is advised by:

  • The Fabric Advisory Committee, which oversees planning and fabric matters – this is chaired by Steven Blake
  • The Finance Committee, which oversees financial and investment strategy – this is chaired by the Cathedral Treasurer, Paul Mason. The Annual financial statements can be viewed here:

Gloucester Cathedral Chapter Accounts 2020

Gloucester Cathedral Enterprise Accounts 2020

A number of other boards and committees contribute to the Cathedral’s life and mission.

The Dean

The Very Reverend Stephen Lake is the current Dean of Gloucester and was appointed by the Crown. He is the Chair of the Chapter, directs the life and mission of the Cathedral and represents the Cathedral in the City and County. The Dean is also a member of the Bishop’s Senior Staff in Gloucester Diocese.

Stephen was ordained in 1988 and served as assistant curate at Sherbourne Abbey for four years.  In 1992 he became Parish Priest of Branksome St Aldhelm in Poole.  After several years as Assistant Rural Dean, Stephen became Rural Dean of Poole.  In 2001 he was appointed as Canon Residentiary and Sub Dean of St Albans Cathedral, and was installed as Dean of Gloucester on Sunday 12 June 2011.

Stephen is currently chair of the Gloucester Regeneration Advisory Board and of the County Scout Executive. He is also chair of the Project Pilgrim Board and in 2015 was awarded an Honorary Fellowship by the University of Gloucestershire for contribution to the city. He is also a Church Commissioner.

Cathedral Council

The Cathedral Council meets three times a year to further and support the work of the cathedral and advise the Chapter. Its membership is specified in the Constitution and Statutes and includes elected representatives from the Cathedral Community. The Council is chaired by a lay person who is appointed by the diocesan bishop. The bishop attends and speaks at the Council although she is not a member. The Current Chair of the Cathedral Council is Canon Margaret Sheather.

College of Canons

The College of Canons consists of the Dean and residentiary canons, bishops, archdeacons and honorary and lay canons. The College meets at least once a year to consider cathedral affairs. It also has the task of electing a new bishop in accordance with the Appointment of Bishops Act 1533.

Day to day operations

The Chapter delegates the operations of the Cathedral to the Cathedral Management Team, Chaired by the Chapter Steward (Chief Operating Officer).

The Chapter Steward, currently Emily MacKenzie, is the most senior lay officer of the Cathedral and is responsible to Chapter for all operational functions, financial and legal compliance.

The Canon Chancellor, Celia Thomson, has specific responsibility for Education and Visitor Experience.

The Canon Precentor and Director of Congregational Development, Richard Mitchell, is responsible for the worship, music and congregational development.

CMT also comprises the Head of Music, Master Mason, Head of Finance, Project Pilgrim Manager, Head of Safeguarding and HR (Deputy Diocesan Secretary), Dean's Verger, Visitor Experience Manager and Head of Development and Communications.









  Cathedral Management Team

Printer Printable Version

Culture Recovery fund for Heritage logo

Visit England logo Green-Tourism logo logo trip advisor link Arocha Eco Church logo Year of Cathedrals Church of England Diocese of Gloucester GLA Winner